Couch to 5k – Getting My Run On

When I was a kid, my parents were really keen for me to be active. My main sport was swimming, training up to five times per week until I was about 12, but I also did gymnastics, trampolining and badminton. The main problem was that I wasn’t particularly good at any of them and I hated PE lessons at school. One particularly memorable lesson was when my group of friends who were equally unenthusiastic had to play basketball against a team made up of girls taking GCSE PE and we ended up just passing them the ball each time to get it over with.

Needless to say, my fitness levels went down and my dress size went up. As my sixth form college was much further away from home than my senior school, I took the bus every day and did very little walking. This meant that by the time I went to Uni in 2005, I was a size 18. I managed to get it down to a 16 by walking a bit more and eating more healthily than I had done, but when I moved into the world of work and sat on my butt answering phones all day, it didn’t get any better.

Finally, my boyfriend and I decided to join a gym in 2011, thanks to which I lost a good two stone and got down to a size 12. Most of it was down to Funkalates – a blend of lots of different styles of exercise created by a guy named Leroy. You can read more about it here. When we moved to Nottingham at the end of last year, we quit the gym and haven’t really exercised since.

Now I’ve decided to get back into the game and follow a couch to 5k programme after hearing so much about them over the past few months. You are essentially given a 9 week plan that will get you from being a complete novice to being able to run 5k or 30 continuous minutes. As we’ve got lots of flat green areas around our house here, I figured this would be a much cheaper option than joining another gym. We’ve got a Roko literally over the road, but their prices are extortionate.

A C25K programme should work well for me. Where I’m freelancing now, money is more uncertain and although I’m comfortable, I never quite know where my next pay package is coming from. The benefit of this line of work though, is that I can do it when I want. If I want to take half an hour out of my day to go for a run, it doesn’t matter as long as my work gets done.

There are many different versions of the programme out there, but I’ve decided to go for the one made by the NHS, available here. Once I’d found the charger for my iPod shuffle I’d lost in the move, I was away! I was pretty knackered at the end of it as I’m really out of practice, and I’m glad I took my inhaler with me (asthma’s a killer y’all), but I’m going to stick with it and hopefully update the blog with my progress.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

