First Race Sign-Up!

We’ve done it!

This evening I signed me and my boyfriend Rob up for the Run Nottingham with Richard 5k next month.

As I said in my last post, Rob cycles a lot but hasn’t run in months. So he dragged me out of bed at 6am this morning so he could get a run in before work.

I didn’t have time to get my iPod or apps together to do a 20 minute run like we planned, so we were just running to the point I know is roughly 10 minutes’ run away and then turning back. Despite this relatively short distance, it was the worst run I’ve done since I started C25K!

As with all things running, a lot was probably psychological. I was expecting him to struggle so I was doubting myself when he didn’t. When we started, he asked whether I always ran at that speed (implying slowly) so I think I pushed myself harder. It was earlier than I’m used to so the air was colder and it affected my asthma more. I stopped at 10 minutes and started walking. Throughout the whole C25K plan I never stopped when I was supposed to be running. This then made me more down for the last part. Running with no music meant I could only hear my breathing, which made me focus on it more, which made it worse!

To top it all off, I choked on some phlegm near the end and nearly chundered.

All in all, not a brilliant start to my day.

But what have I learned from it?

  • Run with music – I’ll definitely sort that out before our next run.
  • Don’t push myself too hard – Just because I’m running with someone, doesn’t necessarily mean it’s a good idea to try to keep up, but….
  • Push myself an appropriate amount – If I’m feeling good, I’ll make the most of it.
  • Drink more water – Water good, phlegm bad.
  • (Somewhat) slow and steady wins the race – Rob said afterwards that he was glad I paced it slower than he was expecting, he thinks he would have burnt himself out. He also said he would have stopped far earlier if I hadn’t been there.

We’re planning on running again on Thursday. Really hoping it’ll be better, but I’ll keep in mind something Laura says at the end of the Stepping Stones podcast – A bad run is better than no run at all.

Leave a Reply

